Teacher Skills Development Gets Boost

Teacher Skills Development Gets Boost

Primary school teachers in the Port Macquarie electorate will get assistance to further develop their classroom skills to benefit their students with funding provided through the NSW Government’s Quality Teaching, Successful Students initiative.

All local Government schools with primary students will share almost $663,000 to improve teachers’ skills with activities such as mentoring and coaching; achieving higher levels of accreditation; and collaborative lesson planning and unit development to help teachers learn new skills from each other.

Member for Port Macquarie, Leslie Williams said the funding will help local teachers be better equipped to be effective in their classrooms.

“Helping teachers learn and improve their craft is a vital part of providing the best education possible for our children,” Mrs Williams said.

“Each school will determine how this funding is best spent to address an area of most need, for example, more effective literacy and numeracy skills or better classroom management.”

“I am pleased the NSW Government is delivering this important funding for our local community,” Mrs Williams said.

The $244 million Quality Teaching, Successful Students initiative is part of the NSW Government’s Local Schools, Local Decisions reform which has empowered schools to make local decisions about how best to meet the needs of their students.

Education Minister Rob Stokes said $88 million will be dispersed under the initiative in 2017, up from $38 million last year and $10 million in 2015.

“This initiative provides NSW public schools with primary enrolments additional resources to enhance professional practice in their schools,” Mr Stokes said.

“This will allow schools to implement evidence-based approaches to improve teaching and learning.”

Funding amounts are based the number of students at each school with additional loadings for students with special needs. Principals will work with their executive to decide the best way to use the funding.

Coopernook Public School


Hannam Vale Public School


Harrington Public School


Hastings Public School


Herons Creek Public School


Johns River Public School


Kendall Public School


Lake Cathie Public School


Lansdowne Public School


Laurieton Public School


Lord Howe Island Central School


Moorland Public School


North East Public School of Distance Education


North Haven Public School


Port Macquarie Public School


Tacking Point Public School


Telegraph Point Public School


Upper Lansdowne Public School


Westport Public School


No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.