Recognising Our Volunteers

Recognising Our Volunteers

Member for Port Macquarie, Leslie Williams today presented local volunteers with certificates of appreciation for the work they do for our community.

“Volunteers are vital to any community and play such an important role delivering a range of services,” Mrs Williams said.

“Our area is so lucky to have as many volunteers as we do who go out of their way to help others.

“Whether it is sporting events, improving our community, teaching the arts or being a member of a service club, we are blessed to have so many volunteers.

“Today I have taken the opportunity to invite a number of volunteers to a special morning tea at the Port Macquarie CWA Tea Room to present certificates to some outstanding volunteers in recognition of their work,” Mrs Williams said.

“I am proud to announce four people have been honoured with the NSW Premier’s Community Service Award for their individual commitments to our community over many years.

“Congratulations to Greg Laird, Robyn Ryan, Kevin Pike and Andrew McCoubrie for their outstanding work,” Mrs Williams said.

Local campaigner Margret Meagher was presented with the 2016 Local Woman of the Year Award in recognition of the contribution to arts and health.

Other recipients included Sylvia Ryan, Denis Ryan, Gregory Davies, Carol Baker and Tony Flemming who were all nominated by members of our community for their tireless volunteer work.

The Camden Haven’s Christine Fajks was recognised by the Minister for Volunteering, John Ajaka for her 25 years of volunteering experience.

Louella Polson of People Builders was acknowledged for her inclusion in the 2016 Hidden Treasurers Honour Roll and St Agnes Primary School student Bayden Smith was presented with an award for his selection to represent NSW in the 2016 School Sport Australia 12 Years and Under Hockey Championships.

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.