Local Rural & Remote Early Childhood Scholarships Awarded

Local Rural & Remote Early Childhood Scholarships Awarded

Member for Port Macquarie and Minister for Early Childhood Education, Leslie Williams is pleased to congratulate four Port Macquarie early childhood educators awarded a Rural and Remote Early Childhood Teaching Scholarship.

Mrs Williams said it is a great opportunity for local educators to receive up to $10,000 in funding to help with the costs of upgrading their qualification to a four-year Bachelor’s degree.

“These scholarships are specifically for early childhood educators working in regional, rural and remote areas, outside of the big cities.

“Congratulations to Chloe De Vries and Taylor Sky Young from Goodstart Early Learning, Julie Ann McGuire from Joey’s House Early Education Centre and Tania Flores from St Joseph’s Preschool and Long Day Care Centre.

“We want our local educators to have the best qualifications, so I congratulate the 2017 scholars and strongly encourage local people to consider applying for this valuable assistance for their studies in 2018,” Mrs Williams said.

“The rural and remote early childhood teaching scholarships encouraged local diploma-qualified staff in early childhood education and care services to boost their qualifications.

“This will result in an overall improvement to the delivery of early childhood education programs by increasing the number of qualified early childhood teachers across NSW in rural and remote areas,” Mrs Williams.

The Rural and Remote Early Childhood Teaching Scholarships are part of the

Government's $80 million Rural and Remote Education Blueprint for Action.

The next round of scholarships will be open in April 2017 for the 2018 academic year.

For more information on the scholarships and how to apply, visit the Department of Education website at www.dec.nsw.gov.au/what-we-offer/regulation-and-accreditation/early-childhood-education-care/scholarships/rural-and-remote-scholarships.

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.